Connect with us


FULL LIST: Davido, Burna Boy, Wizkid lead maiden Trace Awards nominations



Davido, Burna Boy, Wizkid, and Tiwa Savage are among the renowned music artists nominated for the 2023 Trace Awards.

Trace, a music media firm, announced the nominations for the inaugural Trace Awards, which will take place on October 21, 2023, at BK Arena in Kigali, Rwanda.

The live event and worldwide television spectacular will honor the originality, talent, and influence of African and Afro-inspired music and culture, and will be aired live to 500 million people in 190 countries.

Artists, music producers, DJs, authors, composers, filmmakers, and record labels are among those competing for the prizes.

West African artists, notably Nigerian musicians, lead the nominations with more over 40 total nominations, including multiple nomination categories for Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, Davido, WizKid, Tiwa Savage, Yemi Alade, Fireboy DML, and Rema.

Davido and Burna Boy each received four nominations in categories including “Best Male,” “Song of the Year,” “Best Live,” “Best Collaboration,” “Best Artist,” and “Album of the Year.”

The music stars were followed by Asake, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Ayra Starr, Yemi Alade, and Fireboy DML, who each received three nominations, and Rema and Kizz Daniel, who each received two.

Odumodublvck, Oxlade, The Compozers, Moses Bliss, DJ Spinall, Olamide, BNXN, Show Dem Camp, and Nissi are among the other noteworthy Nigerians on the list.

“The Trace Awards’ nominations salute achievement and excellence from more than 150 performers, producers, DJs, writers, composers, directors, established artists and rising stars, as well as their management and labels,” stated Trace chairman and co-founder Olivier Laouchez. We congratulate all of the nominees, the majority of them will be in Kigali on October 21 to perform. It will be a must-see for fans of African and Afro-inspired music.”

Platinum-selling musicians from more than 30 nations in Africa, South America, the Caribbean, the Indian Ocean, and Europe compete in 22 award categories. Dora Prevost, a renowned Congolese sculptor and designer, created the winners’ trophy.

Aside from African performers, acclaimed nominees from France, Brazil, the United Kingdom, the Caribbean, and the Indian Ocean, including Stormzy (UK), Aya Nakamura (France), Leo Santana (Brazil), and Shenseea (Jamaica), are represented.

See the complete list of nominees below:

Male of the Year

Asake from Nigeria

Nigerian singer Burna Boy

Davido from Nigeria

Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz

Ivory Coast’s Didi B

South African K.O.

Rema from Nigeria

Best Female

Nigeria’s Ayra Starr

Ivory Coast’s Josey

Kenyan Nadia Mukami

Soraia Ramos from Cape Verde

Nigerian singer Tiwa Savage

Senegalese Viviane Chidid

Year’s Most Popular Song

Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde) – “BKBN”

Libianca (Cameroon) – “People”

“Suavemente” (France) – Soolking

Emma’a (Gabon)’s “Encre”

“Sugarcane” Camidoh (Ghana)

Burna Boy (Nigeria) – “Last Last”

Ayra Starr (Nigeria) – “Rush”

“Calm down” – Rema from Nigeria

“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) and Ed Sheeran (UK) perform “Peru.”

K.O (South Africa) – “Sete”

Kizz Daniel (Nigeria) – “Cough”

Innoss’B (Ivory Coast) – “MORTEL 06”

Music Video of the Year

Wizkid (Nigeria) & Ayra Starr (Nigeria) – “2 Sugar”

Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – “Baddie”

Suspect 95 (Ivory Coast) – “Kpaflotage”

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) & Asake (Nigeria) – “Loaded”

Blxckie (South Africa) – “Ronda”

Kalash (Martinique) – “Tombolo”

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) – “Yatapita”

Newcomer of the Year

Azawi, Uganda

M. Krys (Cameroon)

Cameroon national Libianca

Nigerian Nissi

Nigeria Odumodublvck

Pabi Cooper from South Africa

Roseline Layo (Côte d’Ivoire)

Excellent Collaboration

“Many Ways” – BNXN (Nigeria) collaborates with Wizkid (Nigeria)

“Mine” – Oxlade (Nigeria) with Show Dem Camp (Nigeria)

“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) and Ed Sheeran (UK) perform “Peru.”

Black Sherif (Ghana) and Burna Boy (Nigeria) perform “Second Sermon”

K.O (South Africa) performs “Sete” with Young Stunna (South Africa) and Blxckie (South Africa).

Tiwa Savage performs “Stamina” with Ayra Starr (Nigeria) and Young Jonn (Nigeria).

“Trumpet” – Olamide (Nigeria) in collaboration with Ckay (Nigeria)

“Unavailable” – Nigerian Davido and South African Musa Keys

The best DJ

Danni Gato from Cape Verde

Ivory Coast DJ BDK

Illans, DJ (France)

Nigerian DJ Spinall

Haitian Michael Brun

Uncle Waffles from Swaziland

Producer of the Year

South African DJ Maphorisa

(Ghana) Juls

Small, Kabza (South Africa)

(Nigeria) Kel-P

Tamsir (Côte d’Ivoire)

Gospel Musician of the Year

South African entrepreneur Benjamin Dube

Kenyan Janet Otieno

(Ivory Coast) KS Bloom

Uganda (Uganda) Levixone

Bliss, Moses (Nigeria)

The Best Live

Nigerian singer Burna Boy

DRC’s Fally Ipupa

(South Africa) Musa Keys

Nigeria’s Composers

Nigerian singer Wizkid

Nigerian singer Yemi Alade

Dancer of the Year

South African robot Boii

Tayc from France

Ugandan Ghetto Children (Uganda)

Nigerian singer Yemi Alade

Tanzania Zuchu

Africa’s Best Artist – Anglohone

Asake from Nigeria

Nigeria’s Ayra Starr

Ghana’s Black Sherif

Davido from Nigeria

Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz

DML Fireboy (Nigeria)

Africa’s Best Francophone Artist

Ivory Coast’s Didi B

Emma’a from Gabon

DRC’s Fally Ipupa

Cameroon KO-C

Cameroonian Locko

Serge Beynaud (Côte d’Ivoire)

Senegalese Viviane Chidid

Africa’s Best Artist – Lusophone

Angolan Gerilson Insrael

Lisandro Cuxi from Cape Verde

Angolan perola

Plutonio is a town in Mozambique.

Soraia Ramos from Cape Verde

Rwandan Artist of the Year

Rwandan Ariel Wayz

Rwandan Bruce Melodie

Bwiza, Rwanda

Rwandan Chriss Eazy

Kenyan Kenny Sol

Artist of the Year – France and Belgium

France’s Aya Nakamura

Booba from France

Nihno is a French word.

France’s Ronisia

Soolking, France

Tayc from France

Best Artist in the United Kingdom

Central Cee (United Kingdom)

Headie One (United Kingdom)

Ms Banks (United Kingdom)

Raye (United Kingdom)

Stormzy (United Kingdom)

Caribbean Artist of the Year

Admiral T. of Guadeloupe

French Guiana’s Bamby

(Martinique) Kalash

Martinique’s Maureen

Jamaican Popcaan

Martinique’s Princess Adored

Haitian Rutshelle Guillaume

Jamaica Shenseea

Artist of the Year – Indian Ocean

BTS Donovan (Mauritius)

(Madagascar) GaEi

Goulam (Comoro Islands)

Mikl (Family Reunion)

El (Reunion) Sega el

Mayotte’s Terell Elymoor

Brazil’s Best Artist

Djonga is a Brazilian game.

Iza from Brazil

Leo Santana from Brazil

Brazil’s Ludmilla

Luedji Luna from Brazil

North Africa’s Best Artist

Morocco’s Amira Zouhair

Tunisian artist Artmasta

Morocco (Dystinct)

Morocco’s El Grande Toto

Algerian Kader Japonais

Algerian Raja Meziane

Best Album of the Year

Aya Nakamura (France) – “DNK”

Burna Boy (Nigeria) performs “Love Damini”

Kizz Daniel (Nigeria) – “Maverick”

“More Love, Less Ego” – Nigerian singer Wizkid

Davido (Nigeria) “Timeless”

Asake (Nigeria) – “Work of Art”

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :