Connect with us


Keith Shiri has been reappointed as jury President for AMAA 2023.



He was formerly the chairman of the jury for last year’s award ceremony.

Keith Shiri has been reappointed as the President of the Jury for the Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) for the 19th time.

The Zimbabwean-born but UK-based worldwide cinema curator and programme advisor to various international film festivals presided over the 12-person international jury board for the 2022 awards.

He returns to oversee the AMAA jury of distinguished curators, prominent filmmakers, and critics. They will select nominees and winners in the 26 categories for the 2023 AMAAs, which will be held in Lagos in October 2023.

Raymond Anyiam-Osigwe, the organisers of the AMAA, announced on behalf of the board of the Africa Film Academy (AFA), “We are very excited to welcome Keith Shiri back as President of Jury for 2023.” AMAA has a history in which Jurors can preside over the jury for two editions in a row. As the president of the AMAA 2023 Jury, we are continuing that history by extending Keith Shiri’s career as a founding judge at the AMAA and an advocate of African art and film. Keith’s experience and broad knowledge of African cinema, spanning three decades, along with his expertise, which has seen him serve in several international groups, make him an excellent candidate for this role…”

Shiri, who is now curating the Icons of the Africa Centre Series for the legendary London-based cultural organisation, expressed gratitude to the AFA board for his reappointment.

He also expressed regret that he will preside over a jury in the inaugural round without the creator and CEO, Peace Anyiam-Osigwe. “I don’t know what to say, but it’s rather sad to preside over this first edition without our CEO, founder, and sister, Peace Ogechi Marie Anyiam-Osigwe,” he says. But we have an award to present, and we must deliver.”

Dorothee Wenner, international film curator and programmer for the Berlin International Film Festival, June Giviani, Burkinabe-Swiss-born filmmaker Berni Goldblat, ambassador and former Burkina Faso Minister of Culture Phillipe Savadego, and filmmaker John Akomfrah are among the AMAA jury members.

The judges will comb through the 368 submissions for this year’s award. The nominations will be announced on September 20, 2023, according to Dr. Shaibu Husseini, chairperson of the selection committee.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :